top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNichole "Killer" Schiller

Casting with a Dabble of Carpentry

This week I continued casting my doors and will start assembling them as books starting next Monday. The next challenge was determining on how to display these books. I looked at a lot of shelf options including used bookshelves, metal shelves, and handmade wooden shelves. I decided the most attractive idea for me was a floating wooden shelf since there would be no brackets or hardware to distract the viewer from the object on the shelf. I tested different sizes of pre-cut wood including 2x4s, 2x6s, and 1x6s. I felt that the 2x4s were visually too shallow but I will do a full mock up install for my midterm using all of the testing shelves.


The 2x6s felt like they would make more substantial shelves so I made two to test. I used different sized dowels for each shelf to see if one was more sturdy than the other. I am waiting to test the weight of the shelves and if they can uphold themselves on the wall. I also have a 1x6 shelf to test out as well in case the 2x6s are too heavy as well. I also tried different stains on the shelves to test out what color would go best with the books. I am leaning more towards the English Chestnut, but maybe in a more subtle red than the one in the photo.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Just the small Tweaks Now

With the show up and running online at https://nicholewschiller.wixsite.com/opendoor2020 it leaves just the small things to tweak and maintain. Such things as editing the website and the artist statem

Artist Statement Rough Draft

This current body of work seeks to represent the idea of “Opportunity” and what that can be to others. While developing this work I reflected upon my own opportunities in life and where they had come

bottom of page